S.T.A.G.S by M.A. Bennett 

Blurb: 

Nine students. Three bloodsports. One deadly weekend.

A twisting thriller for fans of Looking for Alaska and The Hunger Games

It is the autumn term and Greer MacDonald is struggling to settle into the sixth form at the exclusive St. Aidan the Great boarding school, known to its privileged pupils as S.T.A.G.S. Just when she despairs of making friends Greer receives a mysterious invitation with three words embossed upon on it: huntin’ shootin’ fishin’. When Greer learns that the invitation is to spend the half term weekend at the country manor of Henry de Warlencourt, the most popular and wealthy boy at S.T.A.G.S., she is as surprised as she is flattered.

But when Greer joins the other chosen few at the ancient and sprawling Longcross Hall, she realises that Henry’s parents are not at home; the only adults present are a cohort of eerily compliant servants. The students are at the mercy of their capricious host, and, over the next three days, as the three bloodsports – hunting, shooting and fishing – become increasingly dark and twisted, Greer comes to the horrifying realisation that those being hunted are not wild game, but the very misfits Henry has brought with him from school…


Title: S.T.A.G.S

Author: M. A. Bennett

Publisher: Hot Key Books

First Published: 10/08/2017        This Edition: 10/08/2017

Started: 25/07/2017      Finished: 25/07/2017     Pages: 290

My Rating: ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ 

I received an e-copy of this book on NetGalley but I also got a paperback from Readers First!

I found out about this book a few months ago and ever since its been one of my anticipated reads, this book is a YA, thriller, mystery, which is one my favorites!

The main character, Greer, attends S.T.A.G.S on a scholarship where she’s in sixth form, where she soon receives an invitation to go to Longcross Hall for a few days where the Medieval’s,  (like prefects), are hosting, huntin’, shootin’, fishin’, and they invite three other people from the school to attend, they chose the three most ‘outcast’ and different from the other students that attend S.T.A.G.S

I read and finished this book in just a day only putting it down for food. It was absolutely gripping and interesting, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this and I didn’t want to put it down whatsoever and I wasn’t let down by my anticipation for it which was good!

‘I think I might be a murderer.’

After the first line in this book, we already understand that there has been a murder, and by the second chapter we know who got killed, but however we are left questioning what happened and why did this happen, I wasn’t disappointed, by the end of the book I was left wanting more. From the way that this book ending I believe it could go two ways by it being a standalone or a sequel coming out. I kind of want there to be a sequel because like I said, I was left wanting more, I want to know a bit more about what happens and how Greer and her friends deal with it so if there is a sequel I will be picking it up in a heartbeat.

highly recommend this book if you enjoy a good thriller/mystery and also if you’ve read and enjoying One of Us is Lying by Karen M McManus which is also an incredible read if you haven’t read that either. So link are below to Goodreads and order links!

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon US | Book Depository | Wordery | Indigo

Find me on Instagram and Twitter

0 thoughts on “S.T.A.G.S by M.A. Bennett 

Leave a Reply