The Twisted Tree by Rachel Burge | Review

Title: The Twisted Tree

Author: Rachel Burge

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Published: January 10th 2019

ISBN: 9781471407765

Series: standalone

Pages: 248

Edition: Paperback

Synopsis:

Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver.

Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma’s cabin and became blind in one eye.

Determined to understand her strange ability, Martha sets off to visit her grandmother, Mormor – only to discover Mormor is dead, a peculiar boy is in her cabin and a terrifying creature is on the loose.

Then the spinning wheel starts creaking, books move around and terror creeps in . . .

Set in the remote snows of contemporary Norway, THE TWISTED TREE is a ghost story that twists and turns – and never takes you quite where you’d expect.

My Rating: ā˜…ā˜…ā˜…

Disclaimer: I received this from Lau, all opinions are my own.

Going into this I wasn’t 100% sure if this was going to be my type of book but it was a short book so I thought I’d give it a go as I’m heading to YALC and Rachel Burge is one of the authors there!

I did end up liking this book, it was a quick read and it was intriguing and made me want to keep reading due to all the elements of the creepiness of it,

Like the synopsis says, Martha runs away from home to head to Norway where her Mormor lives as she’s discovered she has peculiar powers where when she touches peoples clothes she can see their memories but she doesn’t want to tell her mother so she writes to her Mormor only she never gets a reply and when she touches her mothers clothes she realises that her mother has been burning her letters from Mormor so this is when she decides to go to Norway. Only when she gets to Mormor’s house she discovers that there is strange boy living there and that her Mormor is dead and there’s a deadly creature on the loose.

I didn’t find this overly creepy, it had it’s moments but I liked reading this one as like I said it was intriguing and I was gripped by it but if you’re like me a love a good YA horror thriller, this isn’t it, but if you’re not so keen on horror etc. this is a good mild one that you could read for the halloween season!

I don’t think that I’ll reread this one in the future but not going to say that I wouldn’t because it would be a good spooky read for October!

Leave a Reply