review

We Are Blood and Thunder by Kesia Lupo | Review

Title: We Are Blood and Thunder

Author: Kesia Lupo

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Published: 4th April 2019

ISBN: 9781408898055

Series: Standalone

Pages: 400

Edition: ARC

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Disclaimer: I received an ARC copy of this book from the publisher, all thoughts and opinions are my own.

In a sealed-off city, it begins with a hunt. A young woman, Lena, running for her life, convicted of being a mage and sentenced to death. Her only way to survive is to trust those she has been brought up to fear – those with magic.

On the other side of the locked gates is a masked lady, Constance, determined to find a way back in. She knows only too well how the people of Duke’s Forest loathe magic. Years ago she escaped before her powers were discovered. But now she won’t hide who she is any longer.

A powerful and terrifying storm cloud unites them. It descends over the dukedom and devastates much in its wake. But this is more than a thunderstorm. This is a spell, and the truth behind why it has been cast is more sinister than anyone can imagine … Only Lena and Constance hold the key to destroying the spell. Though neither of them realise it, they need each other. They are the blood and they have the thunder within

A stunning and original YA fantasy from a fantastic new talent. Perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie and Melinda Salisbury

Thank you Bloomsbury for sending me an ARC copy of this book for free in exchange for a review!

This book is done from two points of view, Lena who is a girl who is running for her life as she is from a city that has been sealed off, the Duke’s Forest and in the Duke’s Forest, everyone has been told to fear those with magic as a mage is the cause of a powerful storm cloud hovering over the city, but Lena has been sentenced to death and is trying to escape the city and save her own life.

The other point of view is Constance, she’s on the outside of the Duke’s Forest, beyond the sealed off gate to the city and she is determined to find a way to enter back into the city as before the Duke’s Forest’s gates were sealed, Constance had just discovered her own magic and escaped whilst she could and now she’s back to find a way to stop the storm cloud.

To overcome the storm cloud both Constance and Lena need to help each other to get the outcome that they want but no body knows the true meaning of what the storm cloud is there for and it’s more sinister than you could imagine.

We Are Blood and Thunder is a Young Adult Fantasy debut by Kesia Lupo and I really enjoyed reading this one, I felt that it was incredibly different and I didn’t find it predictable at all because the ending was an incredible shocker for me! I found the beginning to be a little slow but I jumped straight into it and found it to be gripping and before I knew it I had finished the book! This is Kesia Lupo’s first book so I’m looking forwards to seeing what she will bring out next and I know that I will be grabbing myself a fullcover copy of this book once it’s released so I recommend that you go and preorder this one!

You may also like...

Leave a Reply